Saco ME data center moratorium (2026)

Saco, ME — City Council Enacts a 61-Day Citywide Data Center Moratorium and Extends It 60 Days to November 28, 2026
Saco, ME · City of Saco, Me., data center moratorium (Aug. 2026; extended Sept. 28, 2026 to Nov. 28, 2026)

Status
In effect
Expires
November 28, 2026
Applies to
Data center developers in Saco
Enforced by
City of Saco

In August 2026 the Saco City Council approved a 61-day temporary prohibition on data centers throughout the city, to give staff time to add data center rules to the city code. On September 28, 2026 the council extended it by 60 days, to November 28, 2026. The moratorium says the current code does not adequately protect the public, neighbors, utility ratepayers and the environment from possible effects such as noise, heat and emissions. The city administrator said Saco will likely keep extending it until the state's data center task force reports in December.

Who is protected: Saco residents, abutters and utility ratepayers

Legal detail

City of Saco (York County), Me. Original action: Council approved a 61-day temporary prohibition of data centers citywide at a Monday-night meeting reported by Saco Bay News on Aug. 6, 2026 (exact date not stated in the article), renewable for 60 days. Extension: Council voted Monday night (Sept. 28, 2026; article dated Sept. 29) to extend 60 days; Press Herald states it is 'now set to expire Nov. 28.' Moratorium findings: current code doesn't adequately protect 'the public, abutters, utility ratepayers and the environment' from adverse effects including noise, heat and emissions. Staff studying water supply, roads, waste management. City Administrator Ryan Pelletier: city will likely continue to extend pending the Maine Data Center Advisory Task Force's December report. Vote counts not stated. Enacted date left null because the August meeting date is not stated in the sources opened.

Key facts

JurisdictionSaco, ME
LevelCity / local
StrengthModerate
CitationCity of Saco, Me., data center moratorium (Aug. 2026; extended Sept. 28, 2026 to Nov. 28, 2026)
Private right of actionNo, agency enforcement only
PenaltiesNot stated in sources opened
Topicsdata-center siting and energy
News reportSaco extends temporary data center ban by another 2 months — Portland Press Herald

Related data-center siting and energy rules elsewhere

See something wrong or out of date? Submit a correction. Every entry must carry a verifiable source.