Independence County AR five-year data center moratorium (2026)
Independence County, Arkansas — Quorum Court Places a FIVE-YEAR Moratorium on Data Centers, the Longest Local Pause Recorded in This Dataset by a Factor of Two (August 2026)
Independence County, AR · Independence County, Ark. — Quorum Court five-year moratorium on data centers (2026)
- Status
- In effect
- Expires
- August 11, 2031
- Applies to
- Data center developers in Independence County during the five-year moratorium
- Enforced by
- Independence County Quorum Court; county planning administration
The Independence County Quorum Court placed a FIVE-YEAR MORATORIUM on data centers, reported on August 11, 2026. Five years is extraordinary. The overwhelming majority of local pauses in this dataset run six to eighteen months; the previous longest recorded here was two years, in Lawrence County, Illinois and in a Nash County-area North Carolina measure. Independence County has adopted a pause two and a half times the usual ceiling. That length is worth flagging carefully rather than celebrating. Moratorium defensibility generally turns on reasonableness and on the municipality showing it is actively working toward permanent regulations — the longer the pause, the harder both are to sustain, because at some point a 'temporary' measure becomes a de facto prohibition adopted without the process a prohibition requires. Several states cap the term by statute precisely for this reason: Minnesota at twelve months, Wisconsin at twelve plus one six-month extension, California at two years in aggregate, Maine at renewable 180-day periods. Arkansas county government operates through the Quorum Court under Amendment 55 to the state constitution, and no equivalent express statutory ceiling on county moratoria is asserted here. No challenge is reported. This entry is recorded because a five-year pause is a real measure with real effect, and because it marks the outer edge of what local governments are currently attempting.
Who is protected: Residents of Independence County, Arkansas
Legal detail
Independence County, Ark. (county seat Batesville) — FIVE-YEAR MORATORIUM ON DATA CENTERS placed by the QUORUM COURT, reported 2026-08-11. DURATION IS THE DEFINING FEATURE AND THE PRINCIPAL ANALYTICAL POINT. Indexed comparators: Steuben County IN six-month data center moratorium (2026) (6 months), ne-gage-county (12), Marysville KS 12-month data center moratorium (2026) (12), Marion County FL 12-month large data center moratorium (2026) (365 days), Loveland CO 12-month data center moratorium (2026) (12 or less), Sauk County WI 18-month data center moratorium (2026) (18), Cary NC 18-month data center moratorium (2026) (18), Lawrence County IL two-year data center moratorium (2026) (24), Hurlock MD three-year data center moratorium (2026) (36, this wave). AT SIXTY MONTHS, INDEPENDENCE COUNTY IS ROUGHLY 2.5x THE NEXT LONGEST AND AN ORDER OF MAGNITUDE BEYOND THE 45-DAY CALIFORNIA INTERIM ORDINANCES. THE LEGAL CAUTION, RECORDED AS ANALYSIS AND NOT AS A DEFECT FOUND BY ANY COURT: the defensibility of a development moratorium ordinarily turns on (a) reasonableness of duration relative to the study it enables and (b) evidence that the adopting body is actively progressing toward permanent regulations. Both propositions strain across a five-year horizon, and at sufficient length a 'temporary' pause is vulnerable to characterisation as a DE FACTO PROHIBITION enacted without the findings, notice and substantive justification a prohibition would require. Several states cap the term expressly for that reason — Minn. Stat. § 462.355 subd. 4 and § 394.34 (12 months); Wisconsin practice (12 plus one 6-month extension); Cal. Gov. Code § 65858 (45 days + 10mo15d + 1 year, two years aggregate); 30-A M.R.S. § 4356 (renewable 180-day periods). ARKANSAS COUNTY GOVERNMENT operates through the QUORUM COURT under Amendment 55 to the Arkansas Constitution; NO EQUIVALENT EXPRESS STATUTORY CEILING on county moratoria is asserted here, and none was researched. NO CHALLENGE TO THIS ORDINANCE IS REPORTED. expires_date 2031-08-11 IS COMPUTED as five years from the reported date and is NOT stated in the source. THE OPERATIVE SCOPE IS NOT ESTABLISHED: whether the moratorium bars applications, permits, rezonings, construction or all of them is not reported, nor is any size or megawatt threshold, nor whether unincorporated areas only are covered.
Key facts
| Jurisdiction | Independence County, AR |
|---|---|
| Level | County |
| Strength | Stronger |
| Enacted | August 11, 2026 |
| Citation | Independence County, Ark. — Quorum Court five-year moratorium on data centers (2026) |
| Private right of action | No, agency enforcement only |
| Penalties | Not stated in the located source |
| Topics | data-center siting and energy · consumer protection · government use of AI |
| News report | Independence County Quorum Court places 5-year moratorium on data centers — White River Now (Batesville, AR) |
Related data-center siting and energy rules elsewhere
- Superior WI Data Center Moratorium (1-year) · In effect
- Dane County WI Hyperscale Data Center Moratorium · In effect
- Madison WI Data Center Moratorium (1-year) · In effect
- Manitowoc County WI Data Center Moratorium · In effect
- WA SB 5982 (Data Center / Clean Energy) · In effect
- Dayton OH data center moratorium (180-day, Apr 2026) · In effect
See something wrong or out of date? Submit a correction. Every entry must carry a verifiable source.