Hurlock MD three-year data center moratorium (2026)

Hurlock, Maryland — Town Approves a THREE-YEAR Moratorium on Data Centers, One of the Longest Local Pauses on Record and Part of a Dense Eastern Shore Cluster (August 2026)
Hurlock, MD · Hurlock, Md. — three-year moratorium on data centers (August 2026)

Status
In effect
Expires
August 10, 2029
Applies to
Data center developers in Hurlock during the three-year moratorium
Enforced by
Town of Hurlock

The Town of Hurlock approved a THREE-YEAR MORATORIUM on data centers at an August 2026 meeting. Three years places Hurlock among the longest local pauses recorded in this dataset — behind only Independence County, Arkansas at five years, and ahead of the two-year measures in Lawrence County, Illinois and elsewhere. For a town of Hurlock's size on Maryland's Eastern Shore, a three-year horizon is less an interim study period than a decision to keep the question closed for the foreseeable future. That is worth stating plainly rather than treating a three-year 'temporary' measure as equivalent to a six-month one. Hurlock sits in a notably active corner of Maryland. This dataset separately records Cambridge, also in Dorchester County, adopting a one-year moratorium in August, and Federalsburg described in reporting as the first Eastern Shore community to act. Prince George's County has a two-year moratorium indexed. Maryland is also the state whose Governor, Wes Moore, said in September 2026 that he would 'absolutely sign' a statewide data center moratorium if one reached his desk in 2027 — so the local measures are accumulating in a state where the executive has signalled he would ratify them at the state level.

Who is protected: Residents of the Town of Hurlock, Dorchester County, Maryland

Legal detail

Hurlock, Md. (Dorchester County, Eastern Shore) — THREE-YEAR MORATORIUM ON DATA CENTERS approved by the town at an AUGUST 2026 meeting. DURATION: at 36 months this is the second-longest local pause indexed, behind Independence County AR five-year data center moratorium (2026) (60 months, this wave) and ahead of Lawrence County IL two-year data center moratorium (2026) (24). THE SAME DURATION CAUTION APPLIES AS ON THE INDEPENDENCE COUNTY ENTRY and is recorded as analysis rather than as any adjudicated defect: moratorium defensibility generally turns on reasonableness of duration and on demonstrable progress toward permanent regulations, and a multi-year term strains both, inviting characterisation as a de facto prohibition adopted without the process a prohibition requires. MARYLAND HAS NO EXPRESS STATUTORY MORATORIUM CEILING ASSERTED HERE, and none was researched; compare the express caps recorded elsewhere (Minn. Stat. § 462.355 subd. 4; Cal. Gov. Code § 65858; 30-A M.R.S. § 4356). NO CHALLENGE IS REPORTED. MARYLAND CLUSTER, WHICH IS DENSE ON THE EASTERN SHORE: Cambridge (Dorchester County) approved a one-year moratorium on the 24th of a month in 2026 (also in the unwritten queue); Federalsburg is described in queued reporting as 'the first Eastern Shore community' to act; Easton (Talbot County) is deferred as 'to draft' a one-year moratorium; Prince George's County MD 2-year data center moratorium records Prince George's County's two-year measure. STATE CONTEXT: Gov. WES MOORE said on 2026-09-17 he would 'absolutely sign' a statewide data center moratorium if one reached his desk in 2027 — recorded in the triage ledger, with the express caution that NOTHING HAS BEEN SIGNED AND NO BILL EXISTS. The Maryland picture is therefore one of accumulating local pauses under an executive who has signalled he would ratify a statewide measure. OPERATIVE SCOPE NOT ESTABLISHED: whether the moratorium bars applications, permits, rezonings or construction is not reported, nor is any threshold, nor the vote.

Key facts

JurisdictionHurlock, MD
LevelCity / local
StrengthStronger
EnactedAugust 10, 2026
CitationHurlock, Md. — three-year moratorium on data centers (August 2026)
Private right of actionNo, agency enforcement only
PenaltiesNot stated in the located source
Topicsdata-center siting and energy · consumer protection · government use of AI
News reportHurlock imposes three-year data center moratorium — The Star Democrat (Easton, MD)

Related data-center siting and energy rules elsewhere

See something wrong or out of date? Submit a correction. Every entry must carry a verifiable source.